Well, It’s My Story …

A few weeks ago, I was invited by Edna Sackson (@whatedsaid) to share my story about why I became (and remain) a teacher. Overcoming my reservations, and with Edna’s support, I wrote A Teacher’s Story, which was guest posted on the ‘What Ed Said’ blog on May 28, 2011.

whatedsaid

If you haven’t seen it, you can find it here. (It was also picked up on the ‘Success in the Classroom’ blog here).



An unexpected response

To be honest, I was taken aback by the level of interest in my story. I received some heartfelt comments and supportive feedback from around the world, which I have permission to share here.

Untitleds

feedback1

feedback3

feedback2

 



 

Thankyou

If there is one message that I’d like my readers to take away from A Teacher’s Story, it is this: If new teachers are to remain in the profession, they need to feel supported and fairly treated by their colleagues and employers. Too many new teachers feel isolated, stressed, and alone, and before I discovered my PLN, I was once one of them.

We live, we learn, we grow. Why should we leave?

Thankyou for your feedback and ongoing support.

 

4 responses

  1. Hi Michael,I want to thank you for your post here and on @whatedsaid. It is such a powerful reminder for the isolation that so many of us felt/feel, especially in our beginning years. Unfortunately, many continue to feel that way throughout the years, and then the idea of doing something different & new is totally overwhelming because there is no one to bounce ideas around with and learn with… Hence the power of the PLN. Thank you for this reminder!Kind regards,Tracy Watanabe

  2. Thanks Tracy. I think that's why @whatedsaid was so keen for me to write it. My story has helped reinforce that I'm not alone, and that other teachers can be even worse off. And yes, I agree, it does give great credence to the "power of the PLN". Thanks for leaving a comment.

  3. Hi Michael, Your ability to reflect and question your teaching journey is inspiring. Stay idealistic! And hopeful! I have been teaching for 25 years and I have had many different roles and experiences and some disappointments. But when I am with a group of kids and we are on top of that wave and making connections and it's all coming together, I am in teacher's heaven.

  4. Thankyou Beth! I really do appreciate your feedback, and yes, I agree – that moment when 'it all comes together' is what makes teaching so special. Those moments are the reason why I remain a teacher.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *