Seeking Global Perspectives for World Water Day 2011

Well, the big day is finally here. March 22, is United Nations World Water Day – a global event aimed at raising awareness of water issues facing developing and developed countries around the world.

logo
As part of our whole-school WaterWise focus, we have been teaching extensively about water conservation and management from a mostly local (Western Australian) perspective; as our state faces some significant water supply challenges due to changing rainfall patterns and climate change.

As part of World Water Day 2011, our WaterWise coordinator has planned some big events for the day – including photos and video of the whole school – dressed in blue – standing in a giant water drop on our oval!


Seeking Global Perspectives

As part of my contribution to our World Water Day activities, I’m taking a risk and attempting my very first global collaborative project based on the World Water Day theme of “Water in our Cities: Responding to the Urban Challenge”. Over the course of the day, I’ll be taking small groups of students’ aside to share their thoughts and learning with the world via a collaborative LinoIt page.

Now, here’s the tricky bit … I’d love to raise my students’ awareness of global perspectives on World Water Day and water issues around the world. To make this a reality, I really need your help!

I’d love to see international contributions from students, teachers, parents, or interested individuals – either on World Water Day itself (March 22, your time), or over coming weeks. You might like to share your thoughts, photographs, and videos of interest. All would be greatly appreciated!

Here’s the link: http://linoit.com/users/MrGraffin/canvases/worldwaterday2011

My students, colleagues, and I are looking forward to reading/viewing your responses. Thankyou!

Michael Graffin (@mgraffin)

4 responses

  1. Hi Mr. Graffin,I am sorry that I did not read through your project before now. It fits perfectly with what my second graders are studying in the United States. They are learning that we need to take care of our natural resources. Since our school was called off today because of a snowstorm, I was not able to show them your terrific page about water conservation. I will do that tomorrow. Thanks for creating the project and we look forward to sharing our ideas with your students.Sincerely,Mrs. Coats

  2. Thankyou Mrs Coats!!!! It's great to have you on board! Our Year 3 students are *very* excited, and looking forward to sharing ideas with kids in the United States. I'm glad to see that my very first online project will indeed feature 'global' perspectives. It's been a big professional risk, but with the support of some good Twitter friends, I think we can make this a success.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *